Kahutara School in the News

Here you will find links to news items from local media that refer to our school.

Eli’s Story

Eli has been living at Starship Children’s Hospital since April 2016, away from most of his family and friends.

We wanted to share a little bit of magic with him so we created a 360° Virtual Reality experience to make him feel closer to home, from over 600km away.

The Buddy Seat

The ‘buddy seat’ may be new to Kahutara School but it is already showing positive effects in the playground. Deputy Principal Charmaine Taplin spotted the idea on Facebook and thought it would be great for the school.

You can read the full story here.

Contact Us

Kahutara Primary School
990 Kahutara Road
RD1 Featherston, 5771
New Zealand


Phone: 06 308 8427
Fax: 06 308 8426
Email: office@kahutara.school.nz


Staff Contacts

Laraine Nix

office@kahutara.school.nz

Charmaine Taplin

principal@kahutara.school.nz

Hamish McRae

hamish@kahutara.school.nz

Ben Milne

ben@kahutara.school.nz

Nycki Proctor

nycki@kahutara.school.nz

Olivia Woodhouse

olivia@kahutara.school.nz

Wendy Cartwright

wendy@kahutara.school.nz