General Information

The school newsletter is distributed fortnightly through the oldest attending child in the family.

The school has a procedure on discipline, this includes the time spent on buses, and is available from the school office.

Lost property is displayed to the school at the end of each term. Unclaimed items are donated to a charity.

Your child can have a hot lunch. They will need to bring the item, foil wrapped, to the shelf by the office in the morning.

We have an excellent library that the children are encouraged to use. Each class has a regular day for library use. Parents will be charged for lost or damaged books.

The School has a Winter and Summer sign up day where all information is shared from local sports clubs. We have a clear policy to encourage all students to participate in the sport of their choice.

Emergency Planning for Schools

Emergencies can happen at any time. Our school is prepared and has a plan in place to respond to emergencies to minimise the effect to students and staff.

This plan was developed in collaboration with the Wellington Region Emergency Management Office, and full details can be found here.

Contact Us

Kahutara Primary School
990 Kahutara Road
RD1 Featherston, 5771
New Zealand


Phone: 06 308 8427
Fax: 06 308 8426
Email: office@kahutara.school.nz


Staff Contacts

Laraine Nix

office@kahutara.school.nz

Charmaine Taplin

principal@kahutara.school.nz

Hamish McRae

hamish@kahutara.school.nz

Ben Milne

ben@kahutara.school.nz

Nycki Proctor

nycki@kahutara.school.nz

Olivia Woodhouse

olivia@kahutara.school.nz

Wendy Cartwright

wendy@kahutara.school.nz